佳丽宝化妆品教育中心的艺术、社区与关爱

hc_11_01

hc_11_01

hc_11_01_s

佳丽宝化妆品教育中心的标志性彩色玻璃屋顶天窗。充满特色的圆环设计象征着太阳以及人类和谐,反映了佳丽宝希望学员通过教育、沟通和磨合实现共同成长的美好愿望。

分享本页

自1961年起,佳丽宝开始致力于业务多样化。1963年在川崎和神户开设的教育中心便是其中之一。当时的佳丽宝希望拓展化妆品事业,就需要发掘人才来实现这一目标。1976年下半年佳丽宝化妆品教育中心的设立,为来自各地的美容顾问、相关员工、以及零售合作伙伴及其工作人员掌握和提升技能,提供了场所。教育中心坐落于田园式风光之中,俯瞰横滨港,绿树环抱的环境体现着佳丽宝关爱员工的理念。从英国进口的烧结砖外墙,到寓意光明前景的通透大玻璃窗,教育中心的设计兼顾了传统与革新。内部的家具陈设,无不为学员创造出有利于学习和成长的环境。

主楼入口处的大型休闲贵宾厅是来自日本各地的员工们的社交场所。新朋旧友在优雅宁静的氛围下相聚。贵宾厅的设计师选用了紫色作为地毯的色调,代表丰收季节采摘的葡萄,描绘对收获丰硕教育成果的祈愿。沙发特意并排放置,而非面对面,以鼓励更友好、更轻松的对话。厨房和餐厅之间用一件以成熟饱满的稻穗为主题的浮雕作品隔开,寓意培训和教育硕果累累。

整个设施中到处点缀着著名艺术家的作品,其中包括悬挂在入口处正中央、由著名日本风景画家东山魁夷(Kaii Higashiyama)创作的大型画作。佳丽宝曾荣幸地邀请他参加了揭幕仪式。

在贵宾厅的一角,陈设了日本著名雕塑家佐藤忠良(Churyo Sato)( 1912-2011 年)创作于1974年的作品《帽子立像·希望》。雕塑中的女子仿佛立于横滨山丘上放眼遥望海洋。这件雕塑作品里,蕴含着期盼每一个与佳丽宝化妆品相关的人都能永远保持希望的心愿。

学员宿舍的每个房间都张挂着抽象大师篠田桃红(Toko Shinoda)的日语假名音节水墨书法,鼓励学员疑惑之时都能 “回到本初(日语假名就如英文的基本要素ABC)”。 这位107岁的书法艺术家如今依然活跃在工作第一线。

为了给学员带来日式传统旅馆的舒适和奢华体验,激发学员的灵感,大多数房间地板都铺有榻榻米(草席)。学员还可以在室外体验日式茶室和日式庭院,体会日本的待客之道。日本特有的精神价值观,如wabi-sabi(意指接受无常和不完美)、Saho(意指旨在保持秩序和连贯一致的习俗、行动和礼仪)和Omotenashi (待客之道)都融汇此间。教育中心庭院的设计者和建造者为日本庭院设计师兼建筑师岩城亘太郎(Sentaro Iwaki),赤坂离宫(日本国宾馆)和新大谷酒店的日式庭院即出自其手。岩城当时80岁,他将自己的哲学与信仰融入到这个庭院的每一块石头中。佳丽宝化妆品教育中心的庭院据说是他所有作品中的最爱。

这些货真价实的艺术品使每一个到访过教育中心的学员都获得了艺术、哲思以及感性的熏陶。

虽然教育中心已于2013年关闭,但其传递的知识和技能方面的精髓,依然在佳丽宝的员工和零售合作伙伴中传承,并驱动佳丽宝的客户服务。这种精神,存在于所有曾造访过中心,在此学习并获得成长的学员心中。时至今日,从他们诚挚渴望理解并包容客户的感受与情感的举动当中,我们仍然可以看到教育中心提倡的理念所产生的驱动力。

Page Top

Art, community, and care at Kanebo Cosmetics Education Center

hc_11_01

hc_11_01

hc_11_01_s

An iconic stained glass roof window at the Kanebo Cosmetics Education Center featured rings symbolizing the sun and human harmony, reflecting Kanebo’s wish to grow together through education, communication, and mutual aspiration.

Share this page

In 1963, Kanebo opened its education centers in Kawasaki and Kobe as part of its business diversification efforts, which started in 1961. We were looking to grow our cosmetic business and needed to develop human resources to make that happen. Later in 1976, the Kanebo Cosmetics Education Center was established as a place where beauty counselors and other employees across the country, as well as retail partners and staff, could gain and polish their skills. Overlooking Yokohama port, the idyllic location surrounded by greenery symbolized Kanebo’s belief in taking good care of our employees. Designed to embrace both tradition and change, the education center featured fired bricks imported from the UK and large windows signifying bright, new prospects. The furniture and fittings within the premises cultivated an environment conducive to learning and growth for the trainees.

A large, relaxing lounge at the building’s entrance became a gathering place for employees across the country where they could reunite or get to know each other in a peaceful atmosphere. The lounge’s designers chose the color purple for the carpet to represent grapes picked during a rich harvest, illustrating our hope to nurture a rewarding, fulfilling education. Sofas were placed side by side rather than facing each other to encourage friendlier and more relaxed conversations. A relief sculpture divided the kitchen and dining room and featured rice plants with fully-grown grains to portray fruitful training and education.

Works of art from famous artists were placed all around the complex, including the large, center-piece painting hung across from the entrance by renowned Nihonga (Japanese-style painting) artist Kaii Higashiyama, whom we had the honor of inviting to the unveiling ceremony.

A 1974 work, Boshi Ritsuzo, Kibo (Hat, Hope), by leading Japanese sculptor Churyo Sato (1912—2011) was displayed in a corner of the lounge as if the woman was looking out to a distant ocean from the hill in Yokohama. The sculpture signaled to everyone involved with Kanebo Cosmetics to retain hope.

Ink calligraphy of Japanese syllabary by Toko Shinoda could be seen in every room of the trainee accommodations to encourage them to ”go back to the basics (as in the foundational elements of the ABCs) when in doubt.” The 107-year-old calligraphy artist continues to work today.

To inspire trainees with the comfort and luxury of a ryokan (a traditional Japanese inn), most of the rooms had tatami (straw) mat flooring. They could venture outside to experience a Japanese tea room, a Japanese garden, and the hospitality spirit of Japan. Here, the area incorporated spiritual values unique to Japan, such as wabi-sabi (the acceptance of transience and imperfection), Saho (customs, actions, and etiquette to keep order and consistency), and Omotenashi (hospitality). Japanese landscaper and architect Sentaro Iwaki, who designed the Japanese gardens of Akasaka Palace (Japan’s State Guest House) and Hotel New Otani, designed and built the education center’s garden. Iwaki was 80 years old at the time, and he imbued his philosophies and beliefs into every stone of the garden. We’ve heard that the garden at the Kanebo Cosmetics Education Center was his favorite among all the others.

These authentic art pieces nurtured an artistic, meditative, and thoughtful sensibility in everyone involved with the center.

The education center closed its doors in 2013, but its spirit lives on in the knowledge and skills gained by our employees and retail partners who continue to drive Kanebo’s customer services. It lives on in all the people who came to the center to learn and grow. To this day, we see their genuine desire to understand and embrace customers’ feelings and sensibilities in a manner consistent with the educational outlook inspired by the center.

Learn more about the artists

Page Top