歌舞伎粉底,兼具功能与美感

分享本页

“隈取”(kumadori)是一种用于戏剧表演的化妆技术,常用于传统风格的日本戏剧表演——歌舞伎,即歌舞伎之脸谱。歌舞伎凭借其精彩的戏剧情节和表演者精致的妆容而闻名遐迩。隈取在画法上重点突出了表演者的肌肉线条和血管,以增强戏剧的感染力和表现力。
 
在过去,歌舞伎演员使用一种名为“白粉”的白色粉末作为粉底,这种白色粉底能与隈取妆容的颜色形成鲜明的对比,因此在歌舞伎的化妆当中占据极为重要的地位。但是,在十九世纪中叶以前,白粉(oshiroi)中含有的铅成分导致许多歌舞伎演员铅中毒。1934年,虽然含铅化妆品的生产被禁止了,但是许多歌舞伎演员认为使用含铅的白粉可以让自己的妆容在舞台上看起来更美,从而继续使用。
 
后来,时至1954年,佳丽宝生产出第一款无铅白粉,既不会损害皮肤,又能够有效迎合歌舞伎演员们的舞台妆容需求。佳丽宝与著名的歌舞伎演员第十一代市川团十郎先生(1909-1965)携手合作,满足了演员们对高质量白粉的期望。
 
市川团十郎先生作为复杂的歌舞伎表演的大师,他对质量的要求也近乎完美。歌舞伎演员需要使用白粉以防止油脂和汗水过多导致的脱妆现象,在此同时白粉还要具备伏贴和防结块的特性。在特殊的舞台灯光下,白粉(oshiroi)必须看起来无可挑剔,轮廓分明,并能与色彩鲜艳的隈取妆容产生强烈对比。研发过程中,经历了无数次的配方修改和测试,市川团十郎先生与佳丽宝的化妆品专家进行反复沟通,过程艰辛、挑战重重,但是我们最终成功地满足了市川团十郎先生提出的所有严苛品质要求。
 
1960年,是我们生产出第一款白粉后的第六年,我们终于成功研发出舞台白粉(舞台用色)。市川团十郎先生对这项成果大喜过望。他将歌舞伎舞台帷幕(定式幕)的条状图案用于舞台白粉的外包装,并获得了广泛好评。舞台白粉(舞台用色)在妆效和功能上都表现卓越,这一成就离不开我们与市川团十郎先生的密切合作。迄今为止,舞台白粉依然备受青睐,包括市川家族的歌舞伎演员在内,该产品被广泛用于戏剧表演和电影制作。舞台白粉标志着佳丽宝在功能性粉底行业的开端。以合作精神为基石,融合了对艺术和化妆品的热爱,这款独特产品的研发经历代代传承,至今仍然影响着佳丽宝。

Page Top

Kabuki foundation,
created with function and passion

hc_03_00

hc_03_00

hc_03_01_s

Share this page

Kumadori is makeup used for theatrical performances. Specifically, Kabuki — a stylized form of Japanese theater, which is known for its spectacular drama and the intricate makeup worn by the actors. Kumadori makeup emphasizes the actors’ underlying muscles and veins to evoke dramatic emotions and expressions.
 
Kabuki actors traditionally use a white powder called oshiroi as a foundation, an important contrasting base. However, prior to the mid 19th century, the lead used in oshiroi caused many Kabuki actors to suffer from lead poisoning. Lead-based makeups were banned in 1934, but many actors resisted the ban because they believed lead-based products made them look more beautiful.
 
So, in 1954, Kanebo produced its first non-lead-based oshiroi makeup — one both safe for the skin and effective in creating the desired appearance. We worked with renowned Kabuki actor Ichikawa Danjuro XI (1909-1965) to meet actors’ high-quality expectations.
 
It was no surprise that Danjuro, a master of complex Kabuki dance, demanded quality as close to perfection as possible. Kabuki actors need white powder to prevent color bleeding caused by excessive oil and sweat, with an easy-to-apply, lump-free consistency. Oshiroi must also look impeccable and defined under special stage lights, and provide a stunning contrast to the colorful kumadori makeup. After endless prototypes, back-and-forth tests and communication between Danjuro and Kanebo makeup specialists, pain, and challenges — we ultimately met all the specific qualities Danjuro needed.
 
In 1960, six years after our first stage white powder, we finally completed Butai Oshiroi (Stage Color). Ichikawa Danjuro XI was overjoyed with the results. He secured all the approvals required to use the joshiki-maku stripe pattern, traditionally used on Kabuki stage curtains, on the packaging. Stage Color is an accomplishment in makeup and function, developed in close collaboration with Danjuro XI. It’s still widely used and loved by theater and movie production communities, including Kabuki actors of the Ichikawa family. Butai Oshiroi marks the beginning of Kanebo’s functional foundation. Created with a collaborative spirit — fused with a passion for the arts and cosmetics — its unique product development still influences Kanebo creators today.


Read more stories

Page Top